My Playground

January 16, 2009 at 12:22 pm (DX 7590, raxeffect) (, , , , )

girl-bird-u3Av: F/3.7; Tv: 0.006s(1/160); f: 63mm (35mm-equiv:380 mm); ISO: 140

This is one of my favourite “people” photos. I took this when I had gone into a dumpyard to take some other photos for a topic I was working on. This was actually a spontaneous shot. I was preparing to take the photo of the girl when she got conscious and started running. I just clicked a few shots, following her path – did not even see the bird. Only after seeing the photos at home did I see the bird.

This photo did not have the same effect in colour as it has in Black and White. I tweaked around a little in Photoshop – increasing the contrast, cropping the image, added a little more shadows to get the final outcome.

  • Strong points about this photo would include the way in which this photo shows a poor little rag-picking girl enjoys her play in her make-shift play-ground ie the dumping yard. This photo also has a dynamic quality, because it shows the subjects with a hint of motion blur. This was because of the fading twilight present at the time I clicked this.
  • Having said that, this photo has plenty of drawbacks. A picture with better clarity would make this photo of higher standing. And although, the motion blur is good, if there was more focus on parts of the girl and the bird, it would have been better.
2 Comments

  1. peacefulowl2 said,

    Draw backs or not, the photo has a strong sense of sadness to it. I love it.
    Thanks for sharing it.
    peacefulowlphotography.wordpress.com

    Rakshith : Thank you for your feedback. Yes, it is among my favourite pictures too, because of the message it conveys.

  2. Subhanjan Sengupta said,

    The photograph might be having many drawbacks as far technicality goes. I will refrain from those as of now. What is rather important to note is that this is a poignant picture and captures a spectacular mood. Reality has never come so close to naturalness in your pictures before. I believe this picture will be a stepping stone for you to raise your level up to street photography which is everything about photography. All great masters were street photographers. I am going for street photography these days and I am having experiences and pictures that are contributing a lot to my improvement. This picture is very simple, balanced and natural. Keep them coming.

    Kiran: Hi Subhanjan, thanks for your comments. By the way, SelfCriticShutterBug has got a new photographer – my friend raxeffect. Some of the B&W you have seen in past few weeks (including this one) have been uploaded by him. Check the about page for more details.

    As you notice, raxeffect is a more seasoned photographer than me. That is the reason you notice the change in photography style.

    Rakshith: Thank you, Subhanjan and Kiran. Yes Subhanjan, I also think it is the next big step for all photographers in the ladder of photographic progress. But, having said that, I do not wish to stop trying to improvise in other aspects of photography, like landscapes, portraits, macro and the like, as there is a long way to go in each field.

Leave a Reply

