Flash of Brilliance

November 9, 2008 at 11:31 pm (kiranoncemore, S3 IS) (, )

Dusk at Pondicherry

Dusk at Pondicherry

Tv: 5 sec; Av: F/8; ISO: 100; f: 15.6mm (35mm-eq: 99 mm)


The credit for this photo goes to my buddy, Rahul. Take a bow Rahul – this one is a gem. One of my favorites.

This was the first time I was trying long exposure times. It took quite some amount of fiddling to get the tripod set up proper. The strong wind dint help either (not exactly the ideal ingredient in a long-exposure shot).

In addition, this was photo was shot in RAW format. However, being totally illiterate as far as RAW image processing is concerned; I have just reproduced the “default” JPG that my camera had painted out of this particular RAW image.

I seek advice on how this RAW image could have been processed better!

2 Comments

  1. Marco said,

    Hey there,

    I’ve written about the workflow I use for RAW image processing on my blog here:

    http://marcodsouza.blogspot.com/2008/11/streamline-raw-image-processing.html

    Hope this helps!

    Kiran: It definitely helps Marco! Thanks.

  2. Subhanjan Sengupta said,

    You do have an eye. I liked your pictures. Photography is so much of a precious art that it’s sensitivity can be felt but a very sensitive heart.

    I have been thinking for sometime whether I should be having a blog or not. But now I finally have a blog. The name of my blog is – My Third Eye. In recent times I have discovered a genuine fondness for photography. Capturing the world and its people in still images is a very difficult task. But right now I am trying. I am serious about this hobby. And I will carry on with it for years to come.

    In my new blog I have posted a few pictures that I have taken in recent times. There are four categories. There is also another category which has my sketches. The URL is:

    http://clickmoments.blogspot.com/

    I will be glad if you pay a visit to it and post your thoughts. I hope others will pour their thoughts in soon. You can even vote in the voting machine at the bottom of my blog. You may even be my follower if you want to. By clicking the ‘Follow this blog’ link on the top left of the page, you may add yourself to the list of my followers. I will be extremely glad.

    Kiran: Thanks for your comments Subhanjan. I have visited your blog and simply loved it – the photos and the emotions behind them. Keep clicking!

Leave a Reply

